Ashes player of the series award is wide open – now select your winner

Pat Cummins and Ben Stokes at Headingley

Pat Cummins and Ben Stokes are among the leading contenders to win the Compton-Miller Medal in 2023 – Stu Forster/Getty Images

The Compton-Miller Medal is awarded to the man of a Test series between England and Australia. It is named in honour of Denis Compton and Keith Miller, great players both, and has been handed out since 2005.

Normally, with a game to go, it is clear which player will win (take Steve Smith in 2019), or at least which team the winning player will come from (take Australia in 2021-22). This time, though, the field is open, with a host of possibles, but no probables.

Nick Hoult: Ben Stokes

He played the best innings of the series at Lord’s, one of the great counter-attacking knocks of all time and stuck to his principles as captain at 2-0 down when many of his predecessors would have buckled. If you compare players with their opposite number then he has completely dominated Pat Cummins as captain, thinking several moves ahead and forcing Australia to change their strategy to combat England.

It has been a long time since an England team has done that in an Ashes series. There have been mis-steps along the way but this has been a hugely entertaining series because of Stokes and his vision.

One more big innings at the Oval should earn him the Compton-Miller medal, named after two players who would have endorsed Stokes’ panache and approach to cricket.

Tim Wigmore: Pat Cummins (Australia)

Ostensibly a curious choice, given his terrible individual match and captaincy struggles at Old Trafford, but not when taking into account his impact over the four Tests. Cummins has taken 16 wickets, including his over for the ages at Lord’s – which dismissed Joe Root and Harry Brook in England’s second innings, leaving even Ben Stokes with too much to do.

He also played the decisive innings at Edgbaston, his nerveless 44 not out – including hitting Root for 14 in three balls – steered Australia to victory, backing up his earlier 38. Even not at his best, Cummins has still been the single biggest factor for Australian retaining the urn.

Will Macpherson: Zak Crawley (England)

This would surely be the most unlikely Compton-Miller Medallist ever. But Crawley set the tone for the entire series, with that opening boundary, and bubbled away before going big at Old Trafford to put himself atop the run-scoring charts.

Zak Crawley slog sweeps for six

Zak Crawley finally ‘went large’ at Old Trafford after some decent if not decisive contributions at Edgbaston and Headingley – Action Images via Reuters/Andrew Boyers

The Oval should suit him, especially when he is so confident coming off a big score. He has played Australia’s best bowlers, Cummins and Mitchell Starc, beautifully. Has also caught well, which cannot be said of everyone in this series. Crawley still has so much to learn, but this series is a big step forward.

Our cricket team have had their say, now have yours. Which of the following candidates deserves to follow in the wake of Travis Head (2021-22) to win the the Compton-Miller medal?

You might also like...