Arsenal vs Manchester City, Community Shield 2023: When is it and how to watch on TV

Manchester City's Erling Braut Haaland

Ering Haaland made his Manchester City debut in last season’s Community Shield – Reuters/Andrew Boyers

This year’s Community Shield will be contested between Manchester City and Arsenal.

The match normally pits the previous season’s Premier League winner against the FA Cup holders but Manchester City’s treble means the last season’s Premier League runners-up, Arsenal, will step in.

Manchester City have lost the last two Community Shields, while Arsenal return to the match for a 24th appearance and a first since 2020.

The two sides were vying for the Premier League title for the majority of last season before a disastrous end of the season from Arsenal handed Manchester City the edge.

Who is playing in the Community Shield 2023?

Premier League and FA Cup winners Manchester City will face Arsenal

When is the Community Shield 2023?

The match will be played on Sunday, August 6, 2023 at 4pm.

Where is the Community Shield 2023?

The match returns to Wembley Stadium this year, having been hosted at Leicester City’s King Power Stadium in 2022 due to the Women’s Euros.

How can I watch the Community Shield 2023 on TV & live stream?

ITV have the broadcast rights to the Community Shield and show the game on ITV1. Those without access to a TV may also stream the action live via ITV’s on-demand streaming service, ITVX

How can I buy tickets for the Community Shield 2023?

The two clubs were responsible for ticket sales for the match but the fixture has now sold out.

Who won the Community Shield last year?

Last year’s fixture was won by Liverpool, who beat Manchester City 3-1 at the King Power Stadium.

Darwin Nunez of Liverpool celebrates with the FA Community Shield trophy following his team's victory in the FA Community Shield between Manchester City and Liverpool at The King Power Stadium on July 30, 2022 in Leicester, England

Liverpool won last season’s Community Shield – Getty Images/Harriet Lander

  • 2022: Liverpool 3 Manchester City 1

  • 2021: Leicester City 1 Manchester City 0

  • 2020: Arsenal 1 Liverpool 1 (Arsenal won 5-4 on penalties)

  • 2019: Manchester City 1 Liverpool 1 (Manchester City won 5-4 on penalties)

  • 2018: Manchester City 2 Chelsea 0

You might also like...